Solving My First World Problems, One Day At A Time

Making my great life better..

Listen All Ya’ll, It’s a SABOTAGE! January 21, 2013

Filed under: Diabeetus and Metabloism — SideShowShannon @ 4:35 PM

We are all guilty of sabotaging something, whether we want to admit it or not. Sometimes the biggest villain that keeps me from succeeding is myself. I am my arch nemesis..

I always picture my arch nemesis as someone who wears the exact outfit that Super Shannon would wear, but in colors that look terrible on me.

This morning I looked forward  to working out. I got up at 5am instead of 515 so that I could eat, but for some reason I decided that one of those tiny 30 calorie V8 cans would suffice today. Normally I don’t actually feel the need for breakfast because I’m rarely hungry until about 8 or 9 in the morning, but I knew that since I was doing heavier weights and running more I needed the boost. Self SabotageUnfortunately that baby can of vegetable purée was nothing.

After ten minutes of running and my second set of weights I was feeling awful. I was starving, and dizzy. I told myself to work through it, but then pictured myself fainting there in the gym in front of all those people. I say all those because the usual New Years rush of people are there, even at six in the morning. There are probably a hundred people working on their ‘resolution’, it’s crazy. I know it sounds hateful but I’m ready for some of them to go back to sleeping in so I can use the equipment in peace, and stop worrying if I’m yelling “excuse me” too loud over the blare of my headphones.

So, my pride wouldn’t let me pass out on the thigh machine spread eagle so I quit my workout with ten minutes left to run and one set of weights. I guess I was halfway finished., but I’m pretty disappointed in myself.

I can easily come up with  ways to sabotage my workouts, if I don’t like the music I have, I won’t workout. In the beginning when my workout would start to get tough, not painful, but tough, I would stop and tell myself that was good enough for the day. If I realized that I forgot to pack something, I would call it a day before stepping on the gym floor. Sometimes I would skip sets, not realizing that I was doing this for a reason.

When it comes to eating, I literally have to RUN past Hershey Kisses and Peppermint Patties. RUN. Being diabetic, the most fun things to drink and eat are verboten, and I notice that if I relent on one thing, the rest falls like a domino effect. I made a rule against eating in my car.. Then one day I decided to get breakfast burritos, now my car is full of McDonald’s, donut shop and many other little sacks of fast food. It’s disgusting.  Lately I have been able to control my cravings, because I know after a while it won’t taste the same. I also have to remind myself that I don’t want to fail myself publicly in my next weigh-in.

I really am my own worst enemy. My lack of gumption in the beginning kept me from reaching a number of goals, and now I am trying to learn from it.

One day I have to set it in my brain that

1.This is harmful to what I want to accomplish

2.I will never break a habit that I allow myself to keep cultivating

3. I love my body too much to keep hurting it. 

What have you done that sabotages your goals? At what point do we decide that allowing ourselves to revert back to our bad habits is going to stop?

 

Leave a Reply

