Solving My First World Problems, One Day At A Time

Making my great life better..

Feeling like the Biggest Loser February 13, 2013

Filed under: Diabeetus and Metabloism — SideShowShannon @ 4:49 PM
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

ImageI know that the weight loss shows like Extreme Body Makeover and The Biggest Loser are meant to inspire people, but it just makes me feel bad. Oh, in the beginning when I watch them get all into it and lose 10, 12, 8 pounds a week I’m amazed. I’m over here thinking to myself, maaan, if I got my act together, I can be over here lookin ultra fly in a month or two.

So I work out hard. I eat better. I’m not gonna lie and say that I just eat perfect, cause once every few weeks I’ll eat a cheeseburger and fries.

When we went to Dallas I decided to be a good bridesmaid and help her test out the cupcakes. There were 6 cupcakes, and a few truffles. On any normal day I would have declined, but I figured if we both need to make sure that we make it in a dress in June I could eat half so she wouldn’t bear the extra weight. Obviously I am the prime example of a good best friend.

In fact I am trying on my bridesmaid dress tonight. I purposely ordered it a size smaller to motivate myself. Sounds crazy and dangerous, right? I believe in me!

Back to the Biggest Loser. I do all of these things without taking into consideration the fact that they don’t go to work 40 hours a week or take care of an infant and husband. They have a personal trainer to make them sweat and cry at the same time. They also have a chef making them delicious and fat-free meals. The biggest fact that I always neglect to remember is that they are morbidly obese.

I will be perfect if I lose 35 pounds, not over a hundred. The chef at our house is a great cook, but she also works 40 hours a week and takes care of an infant and husband.  I do have a workout partner that I wouldn’t trade for the world, though.

It’s hard to remember my reality of getting healthy when I DVR these shows. Would I love to lose ten pounds in a week? Absolutely! The only way that  would probably happen is if I took performance enhancing drugs like phentermine and HCG. I’ve been down that road, and it didn’t work for me. I’m not saying it’s a bad route to take, but it wasn’t mine.

In two days I get to see my results from this whole month, and I have a shoulder injury that has affected every aspect of my workout for the past two days. I even have trouble picking up the baby. Am I worried about how this will affect my weigh in? Terribly. For the first time in over a month I took a weekday off, to try to give my muscles some rest. I’ll be back tomorrow morning, but I really planned on hitting it hard this week. It’s hard to feel bad when I’ve logged in 21.87 miles in eight days.

I just need to keep telling myself that I’m not a big loser because I’m not the biggest loser. I’m going to enjoy the victories that I have every day that I work out, and trust that everything I do to get stronger will take my body and soul to the best place it can be.

 

5 Responses to “Feeling like the Biggest Loser”

  1. Weeelll, losing that much weight that rapidly usually only occurs when you a) have that much extra weight, and b) when you have a very drastic change in your activity level and/or diet. It’s cool to see, but even with the contestants, you see the more weight they lose, they harder it becomes to get “big” losses on those weigh in days. I’ve been watching Hulu eps and it does motivate me some, in the sense that it makes me want to double my efforts (I already work out and do My Fitness Pal to monitor calories,) and cut myself a little less slack… Hope things work out with your bridesmaid dress!

  2. […] Feeling like the Biggest Loser (mrshensleyslife.wordpress.com) […]

  3. […] Feeling like the Biggest Loser (mrshensleyslife.wordpress.com) […]


Leave a Reply

