Solving My First World Problems, One Day At A Time

Making my great life better..

I would wish this for my worst enemies. March 26, 2013

ImageWhere were you when you fell in love for the first time? Who was it with? Was it the first or the last person that you kissed?

Once you fall in love, can you tell another person what it feels like, or what it should feel like?

For me, I knew I was truly in love when I found the courage to spread my wings. I was able to say that without a doubt, I knew where I belonged, and I went.  I was scared.  It took a while for me to finally accept that he loves just as much as I love him, but it feels good. It feels so good.

I would wish this feeling for my worst enemy. Everyone is entitled to feel whole, completed, loved.  Everyone.

My version of love came in the form of a 6’5 gentle giant with reddish hair. When I see our son, a perfect blend of us both, I know that THIS is where I belong, and together, we did not make a mistake.

It’s hard to believe that in our parents and grandparents lifetime, it was illegal for us to marry. Our son, our baby, would have been considered an abomination. A beautiful abomination, nonetheless.  We would have been persecuted for finding love outside of our race. In fact, we probably would have never married, dated, or even spent time in the first place. People still appear surprised when they see me next to my husband. I think it’s funny. But we are in Fort Smith, Arkansas.dave-chappelle-rick-james-unity-i0

I can’t even imagine life without him, having to settle for someone else because the law and society disagreed with interracial marriage.  How silly, huh, that people of different races could have a loving family. It’s just unheard of.

I grew up a minority, and continue to live my life as one. I am the token black girl and always have been. I really don’t mind it. In those years, I have come into contact with many people who have told me that they could never date me because of my race, or I would have been the first black girl they dated. It’s weird. I’m sure now these guys can look back and be like, “hey I dated a black 580369_10151519503362128_2075935674_ngirl once.”

I know what it’s like being different, and noticed because of it. I don’t wish that feeling upon anyone who feels different whether it’s race, sexual orientation, disabilities, anything.

I am so glad I grew up in a time that is finally starting to see that we are all people. We are all entitled to the same things, and as tax paying citizens it is time that we all have the same rights.

Love is natural, love is beautiful. Let’s finally take the politics out of love and let our friends and family enjoy what some of us take for granted daily.

Every day is an important day in history. Do you want to be remembered for repeating it, or for changing it?

To Ree, who 11 years later still reminds me of  the girl I used to be.. Jimmy, whose high school dramatics prepared me for my first hag relationship that featured our pals Vicodin and Justin Timberlake. Chase, who tells me exactly what I need  to hear all the time, whether it’s actually in my favor or not.  Jason, one of many men who I managed to kiss before he came out.. If an urchin like myself can live happily ever after, you deserve the same. I know how important this is to you, and I want it for you just as much.Love you guys.

 

8 Responses to “I would wish this for my worst enemies.”

  1. Kristi Jones Says:

    I couldn’t be happier to have you in my life right now, Shannon!

  2. Pretty Prana Says:

    This is so beautiful. Thank you for sharing!

  3. Megan Keck Says:

    Beautifully put, we have come far but have farther to go! Keep up the good fight!

  4. Thanks for liking my post, Shannon. Seems we have a bit in common. 🙂

  5. 🙂 The token black girl should be listed under my blog title. When I married my husband his family gave me a lot of slack for it. They wanted to know why I didn’t have more black friends and they bad a big deal about it . How do you answer a question like that? I just hump my shoulders and say I didn’t have the opportunity to befriend more black women who didn’t judge me for the choices I made or the things I did not do, or they would get mad because I traveled so much etc….


Leave a Reply

