Solving My First World Problems, One Day At A Time

Making my great life better..

Full Plate! May 8, 2013

Filed under: Diabeetus and Metabloism,My LIfe — SideShowShannon @ 9:18 AM
Tags: , , , , ,

Where have I been? What have I been doing? Why haven’t I been writing?

Oh, I’ve worked hard on so many things that I can’t wait to share when the time is right!

First of all I received the opportunity to write music reviews with a great local magazine here! In addition to being published, I have gotten some much-needed guidance from a seasoned writer. She has helped me so much that I’m afraid to look back at what I’ve previously written because I’ll find a million mistakes. Image

As for my workouts? I currently kicking my ass by myself, because my partner came home with a blood clot after gallivanting in Thailand and won’t be joining me for a month,  and of course she does this as I introduce my new morning routine:

THE SPARTACUS WORKOUT

This workout doesn’t just push me physically, I am mentally challenged every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday.

I hate push ups, yet I do 60, that’s right friends, SIXTY a day. I do the same amount of lunges as well. I am doing three sets of nine routines, all with dumb bells but two. After the first week of being sore on my days off, I found that I was recovering quicker and I could probably handle doing something Tuesdays and Thursdays. I also took last week off running until I could see how much this was going to take out of me.

Since I’m pretty limited on time, I am splitting my runs up. On my circuit training days, I will run a quick mile before, then run another after the training is over. Weird, today I actually ran my second mile faster than the first. Tuesdays and Thursdays will be reserved for my 5k runs.

So, today I learned that I’m stronger and capable of more activity than I thought. I just don’t have enough time.

Now that it’s May (you couldn’t tell with this weather) I have completely lost interest in the treadmill and want to run outside. I learned that I’m not even running my treadmill runs as fast as I can because I can still picture myself face-planting if I trip up. If you have ever fallen on a treadmill, you will never forget it. The pain is gone, but the scars and shame are still very real to me. We have a couple of beautiful places to run anyways. I need to get out!

Have I lost any weight? Nope. Am I upset? Nope. I look good and I’m strong. I’ve got a wedding in a month and a trip to Destin the month after. By July, I want a smaller stomach, and by June, I want more defined arms and shoulders (I’m wearing a strapless dress). I’m two weeks into my new routine, and I can’t wait to see what four to six weeks of this does for me.

If you wanna try out the Spartacus Workout, click here.  I had to sign up for a free month, but I’ve paid for stupider things. Plus, Women’s Health is one of my favorite sites, and I really don’t mind paying them to make me better. It’s cheaper than a real personal trainer.

This week is our first softball game and I can’t wait. I haven’t played since the baby was about 6 weeks old. We went to batting practice with two other married couples this week and had a blast. I’m starting to like the life we are building here. With our new friends and activities, we  may not travel to see our out-of-state friends as much, but we have to make ourselves at home eventually right?

 

2 Responses to “Full Plate!”

  1. Miles Says:

    Though I can’t stand the idea of a blog about fitness, I still found myself reading it. Kudos.

    • haaha! I know. It’s weird to be sooo self absorbed. I’m glad you read it though, despite everything! I like to look back and remind myself that my journey isn’t over. maintaining my health has pretty much consumed my life, and I won’t stop till I reach my goals!


Leave a Reply

