Solving My First World Problems, One Day At A Time

Making my great life better..

My rant for today May 9, 2013

Filed under: My LIfe — SideShowShannon @ 2:40 PM
Tags: , , , , ,

I don’t know how to do this without sounding like a jerk.  Image

But… If you don’t exert yourself in your plans to get healthy, it’s not going to work. I’m sorry. I know I’m going to sound like a self-righteous a$$hole after this is over, but I am speaking from experience.

You already know my story if you’ve read  my blog, if not, click here. I had a hot body until I was about 20 or 21. Then I got really fat. I also became diabetic and spent the end of my twenties on a plethora of medication. I tried diet pills, I tried fasting, I tried drinking body cleanse stuff, I tried colon cleansers.  News Flash: I WAS STILL FAT.

I wasn’t doing enough. I wasn’t trying hard enough. I wasn’t giving myself the opportunity to excel at becoming healthy because I didn’t want to accept that I wasn’t doing it right. So there was this cycle of lose some, gain more.

Everyone’s body responds differently to things, and this is my personal account.

 

Image

I didn’t receive a bit of positive result until I started working out. I started out small, but I didn’t stop. You can’t stop. Body maintenance is a daily chore that you can either choose to love or hate, but you need to do it daily. From the food you choose to eat, to your activities, you need to work towards being healthy EVERY DAY.  Do you have a rule that you don’t leave your house without mascara? Well add a new rule. Don’t end your day without exercise.

Am I saying abstain from everything you love? NO. Indulgence is natural, and encouraged! I indulge in many things, but I’m also up every morning making sure that I am giving my body the exercise that it DESERVES.

Your body does not deserve to starve.

Your body does not deserve to endure the highs and lows of over the counter weight loss pills

Your body does not deserve to be stationary

Your body for damn sure doesn’t deserve to bear more weight than it should be carrying.

Which brings us to this: What you choose to do or not do is often determined by your mind. You can train your brain to coach you through some things that you didn’t think your body could handle, because you may have never done it before, or it’s just been a while. Either way, unless a doctor says you can’t, you probably can.

Do you think I’m over here enjoying my pushups and lunges? Hell naw! I do nearly 200 pushups a week, and each one is more difficult than the next.  I don’t smile at the mat as I’m coming down and pushing back up. In fact, I don’t smile until I’m done, drenched in my own sweat, and the color of a chocolate covered strawberry. I smile even bigger when I’ve recovered and realize that I can do more the next time.

When my legs start burning towards the end of my run, my brain chimes sometimes in “ Hey, you did good. You did all this stuff today. Let’s stop” My brain can be a wimp. I can’t even tell you how many times I have cussed out my OWN brain for trying to make me do less than what I think I can do.

Living an unhealthy life has given a lot of us (myself included) the opportunity to stop when things get ‘hard’. It’s not just in the gym, it’s life in general. Before realizing what all I could do, I was half-assing my entire life. I had a ton of things written that I never finished, my house was always a mess, and most things that required extra thinking or work went undone. 24 hours in a day is plenty of time to better your life.  Would I like a few extra hours to tie up some loose ends? Sure, but I always have tomorrow.

My main theme today is: Stop limiting yourself. You can, and you won’t until you do it. Motivate yourself to give your body the health it deserves, and take pride in yourself for doing it. Take pride in the fact that you are reaching milestones and surpassing them.

Do it the right way; it’s the only way to get the results you need.  

 

3 Responses to “My rant for today”

  1. Good stuff … and I agree 🙂

  2. That’s for the inspiration. I tried a lot of things even Weight Watchers. I learned a lot by going to those meetings and I lost 20 lbs. Then I thought I could just workout and not follow up with a diet those 20 lbs doubled and I was stuck! Its all in our mind and I appreciate you reminding me of that!


Leave a Reply

